A Sew-cation

A vacation to sew… my favorite thing to do.  I took the entire week off work to relax, unwind, and work on this Double Irish Chain quilt intended for my own bed.  I started it about a year ago, and I am determined not to let it remain a UFO.  Here is a sneak peek of it against my bedroom wall.  My bed is white, kind of a “shabby chic” look, so I think it will look great when it is all finished. 

Double Irish Chain

A blog I follow (Kate’s Arty Bits Blog by Kate North) had this meme on there.  Occasionally I will do one, just for the sake of making myself think, so here goes:

A – Age: 57
B – Bed Size: Queen
C – Chore you Hate: cleaning the basement and ridding it of saved junk
D – Dogs Name: Don’t have one now, but previous dogs included Elbrus (Old English Sheep Dog), Maestro and Gretzky (Golden Retrievers)
E – Essential Start of the Day Item: COFFEE with hazelnut cream
F – Favorite Color: Green
G – Gold or Silver: Have a gold wedding band, but also love silver.  I’m on the fence here.
H – Height: 5’7″ ish.
I – Instruments You Play: piano and vocal chords
J – Job: I have one.  Currently working as a Quality Assurance Technician and teacher for a large pharmaceutical company
K – Kids: 2- Sean and wife Kim (and 3 grandchildren, one grand dog), Loren and wife Margaret (grand dog and grand cat)
L – Living Arrangements – House we built in Mid-Michigan just outside Flint
M – Music You Love – I like almost every kind of music except very twangy country and rap
N – Nickname – My grandpa Covert always called me “Plugger”
O – Overnight Hospital Stays – 2 that gave me babies to take home as presents, 4 other ones with no presents (my tummy looks like a road  map
P – Pet Peeve – bad grammar and people who think they are better than you are
Q – Quote from A Movie:  “Nobody puts Baby in a corner”  from Dirty Dancing.
R – Reading – I love to read when I can find the time.  I enjoy historical fiction.
S – Siblings: This gets confusing.  I was adopted.  The brother I was raised with was a surprise.  Half-siblings:  2 half-sisters, 3 half-brothers
T – Time You Wake Up: 5-6:00 AM depending on the day.
U – Underwear: I wear it.  Never white.
V – Vegetable you dislike – beets!!!
W – Workout Style – walking, going to the gym
X – X-rays you’ve had:  Teeth! Chest, right arm, left hand, right knee
Y – Yummy Food you Make: My husband is the chef in our family. 
Z – The Best Place to Visit: Anywhere I have not yet been.  I would love to visit Ireland, England, Scotland and the Black Forest are of France/Germany.

I should also update my readers on my Feathered Star Quilt.  I’m still quilting on it, and it will be a long time in coming…

June 2013

Quilting lines are approximately one-quarter inch apart.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “A Sew-cation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s